Enchanted Effusive Engagement

April 6, 2011 at 9:19 PM (Rambles)

6th April; Entry no.5

From the diary of a five year old.

Do you believe in fairies? Do you believe in the unknown? Do you trust that when you close your eyes and believe with all your heart you will enter a magical land? A land where you feel safe.

I do.

When I close my eyes I see a secret garden. A magical garden with butterflies, flowers, grass and water where I can see my reflection in. It’s the most beautiful place I’ve ever seen.

My dad told me a secret. A secret that I swore never to tell. A secret which I will always keep close at heart. He promised the fairies he wouldn’t tell. But it was my birthday. I begged him to tell. He gave me a dog as a present. A dog which the fairies left for me as a present for my birthday. I did not believe him at first but I read the note on the dog’s collar and so I believe him.

Dear Emily,

We fairies of Feirshire Land can no longer be your guardian. Sadly, we’re only allowed to be with kids for five years. We love you very much and because of that we assigned Melody to be your guardian and companion from now on. Do take good care of her. We’ll miss you.

With all our love,

The fairies”

It is the best present ever.

(End of diary)

Well needless to say, that was me when I was five. Now, twenty years down the road, fairies do indeed seem foreign to me. A mythical being conjured up by adults. You can’t even see them. You don’t even know if they are real. But I’ve read that they live in the in between. The only time to ever try and see a fairy is at midnight when it’s the in between. Between today and tomorrow. Adults use them to soothe their young when in need of an answer to questions hard to answer.I remember my dad explaining heart attacks to me.

“It is like when the goblins attack the fairy castle and don’t allow the fairies to go home. The fairies are like your blood and they need to go back home to your heart, but they can’t when bad things are stopping them.” He explained despite the frown on my head.

I realized now that what’s important aren’t the fairies or the random stories he sugarcoated. But little did I realize at five, he gave me the best gift ever; and it wasn’t the dog. It is something more special. Something that will never fade.

A little something called imagination.

1 Comment

  1. teemortai said,

    “It is like when the goblins attack the fairy castle and don’t allow the fairies to go home. The fairies are like your blood and they need to go back home to your heart, but they can’t when bad things are stopping them.” He explained despite the frown on my head.

    i liked the thought of/imagining that (when it happened). : )

Leave a Reply

